Good News For Randy Quaid

Randy and Evi Quaid were beaming as they walked out of citizenship court with their lawyer, Catherine Sas, one of Canada’s top immigration lawyers. Why so happy? Well, they were finally released from custody where they had spent the last six days, and their beloved dog was freed from the local pound.

But better still, Evi Quaid had advised the immigration authorities in the first hearing that her father was a Canadian citizen. Upon production of her father’s birth certificate, she was unconditionally released. Turns out that amendments to the Citizenship Act in 2009 mean that Ms. Quaid may be eligible for Canadian citizenship because her father was born in Canada. If she were to be granted citizenship she could apply to sponsor her husband.

Meanwhile, Randy Quaid will continue with his refugee claim. In gushing praise for Canada and Canadians Evi said “I’m just so proud because I love Canada, I truly do. Everybody has the same sense of humour as me. It’s big, it’s beautiful-like my husband.”

Lawdiva aka Georgialee Lang

7 thoughts on “Good News For Randy Quaid

  1. Pingback: World Spinner
  2. This is wonderful news. Like Evi, my father was born in Winnipeg and my grandfather went to war with Canadian troops. My father’s brother, also born in Winnipeg. died in a Japanese prison camp.
    I have lot of relatives both in Winnipeg and Vancouver.

    1. Thor Thank you for your interest in this story. I expect that the Quaid’s have a reasonable chance of remaining in Canada now. Keep reading and commenting! Best regards, Georgialee

  3. I have been a reader for a long while, but this is my first time as a commenter. I just wanted to say that this has been / is my favorite entry of yours! Keep up the great work and I’ll keep on coming back. If you’d be interested in swapping blogroll links with me, thanks. direct car insurance australia

    1. The video clip is too cute! Thankful that the Quaids are in Canada! Cheers to the starwhacker survivors, celeb refugees!! Far far away from LalaLand!
      Love Always Fay

Leave a comment