Gender Bender: From Male to Female, Back to Male

DSC00507 (2)In a bizarre story from the New York Post, ABC news editor Don Ennis revealed that his three-month foray into the world of the transgendered was a mistake and he actually was a man, not a woman.

Apparently Mr. Ennis was a child actor whose mother gave him female hormones to extend his modest acting career. Over the years he felt like a man trapped in a woman’s body and eventually had a breast augmentation.

In May of 2013 he took the brave step of leaving his wife and announcing to his friends and colleagues that he was now Dawn Ennis and began life as a woman.

However, after suffering from what he describes as two days of “transient global amnesia” he realized he was not a woman and had been misdiagnosed. His letter to announce his second gender reversal read:

“I am writing to let you know I’m changing my name . . . to Don Ennis. That will be my name again, now and forever. And it appears I’m not transgender after all.

“I have retained the much different mind-set I had in 1999: I am now totally, completely, unabashedly male in my mind, despite my physical attributes,”

“I’m asking all of you who accepted me as a transgender to now understand: I was misdiagnosed. I’m already using the men’s room and dressing accordingly.”

Mr. Ennis sought professional help at the National Institute of Health in Bethesda Maryland to understand why his mind and body changed from male to female. He was told he had a hormone imbalance. After his bout with amnesia he suffered a “drastic loss of memory” and could only remember himself as a man, hence the second gender reversal.

Medical literature describes the amnesia suffered by Mr. Ennis as related to emotional instability triggered by a phobic or challenging precipitating event.

What could be more emotionally challenging than waltzing into the ABC studios wearing a black dress and an auburn wig? Hard to top that!

Lawdiva aka Georgialee Lang

.

15 thoughts on “Gender Bender: From Male to Female, Back to Male

  1. A very small portion of our population has DNA replication issues. For example, some are clearly female in appearance and behaviour, yet have various stages of development of male genitalia. There apparently is a variety of physical and mental-social typing, along a range from being one sex to the other; each case is uniquely individual along the range. Some are only ambiguous in typing in the mind and are not transitional in physiology. However, the social and mental health issues that arise for these people can be overwhelming. They need help and understanding, if they will accept it. Some are willing to work to manage their situation within our culture, and others are very oppositional and want to change the world instead of adopting strategies to make the best with what they have been given within our larger society. Sometimes the ambiguous gender issues give rise to confrontational behaviours, which are socially stressing. Compassion and understanding is needed, but it is not unlimited in the face of some observed social provocations. Fortunately, there is now much compassion and social understanding in comparison to years ago, but it is not unlimited. Everyone has their basic rights as a person. Some transgendered people are better than others with strategies to find a social home within a world that can be harsh and cruel. The law of ‘rights’ has its limits to ameliorate.

  2. I blog often and I seriously appreciate your content.
    This article has truly peaked my interest.

    I will book mark your site and keep checking for new information about once a week.

    I opted in for your Feed too.

  3. Spot on with this write-up, I honestly feel this
    amazing site needs far more attention. I’ll be back again to read through more, thanks!

  4. An impressive share! I’ve just forwarded this
    onto a co-worker who was conducting a little research on this. thanx for spending
    the time to talk about this subject here on your blog.

  5. Spot on with this write-up, I honestly think this amazing site needs a great deal more attention. I’ll be returning
    to read more, thanks for the info!

  6. Howdy!I simply wish to offer you a big thumbs up for your excellent info you’ve got right here on this post.
    I will be returning to your blog for more soon.

  7. Hello there! This post could not be written any better! Looking through this article reminds me of my previous roommate. He always kept talking about this.

    I am going to send this information to him.

    I appreciate you for sharing!

  8. Everything here is very open with a clear explanation of the issue.
    It is truly informative. Your website is very helpful.
    Thanks for sharing!

  9. A fascinating discussion is worthy of a comment. I do think that
    you should write more about this topic, it may not be a
    taboo subject, but typically folks don’t speak about such topics.
    Kind regards!!

Leave a comment