Get Over It Hillary…

GeorgiaLeeLang057In a recent interview with HUMANSOFNEWYORK.COM Hillary Clinton explains why she may appear to be “cold and unemotional”.

“I was taking a law school admissions test in a big classroom at Harvard. My friend and I were some of the only women in the room. I was feeling nervous. I was a senior in college. I wasn’t sure how well I’d do. And while we’re waiting for the exam to start, a group of men began to yell things like: ‘You don’t need to be here.’ And ‘There’s plenty else you can do.’ It turned into a real ‘pile on.’ One of them even said: ‘If you take my spot, I’ll get drafted, and I’ll go to Vietnam, and I’ll die.’ And they weren’t kidding around. It was intense. It got very personal. But I couldn’t respond. I couldn’t afford to get distracted because I didn’t want to mess up the test. So I just kept looking down, hoping that the proctor would walk in the room. I know that I can be perceived as aloof or cold or unemotional. But I had to learn as a young woman to control my emotions. And that’s a hard path to walk. Because you need to protect yourself, you need to keep steady, but at the same time you don’t want to seem ‘walled off.’ And sometimes I think I come across more in the ‘walled off’ arena. And if I create that perception, then I take responsibility. I don’t view myself as cold or unemotional. And neither do my friends. And neither does my family. But if that sometimes is the perception I create, then I can’t blame people for thinking that.”

Imagine if Hillary had faced real trauma as a young woman: like civil war, rape, incest, addictions, eating disorders, other psychiatric problems,serious illness, catastrophic accident, losing a parent, or living in poverty.

Lawdiva aka Georgialee Lang

2 thoughts on “Get Over It Hillary…

  1. …….civil war, rape, incest, addictions, eating disorders, other psychiatric problems,serious illness, catastrophic accident, losing a parent, or living in poverty.

    How many of these happen to white women of privilege? I believe also that her parents died a few years ago.
    One can often not help being born into wealth but I get your point.

  2. Most of the examples above, with the exception of civil war, can happen to women of any socioeconomic class. Not reserved for women of colour, etc. In fact, privileged women often face these situations, poor/rich it doesn’t matter…

Leave a Reply

